14 June 2021

We would like to introduce ourselves as the Governing Body of Lythe CEVC School and give you some information about who we are and what we do. Please see the ‘Current Governors’ section for ‘pen portraits’ of out current governors.

The Governors work in partnership with the headteacher to oversee the strategic development of the school and to help shape the vision and direction of the school. We strive to have a good understanding of the strengths and weaknesses of the school and to challenge and support its senior management. The Governing Body also ensures that the school fulfills its statutory duties, including promoting inclusive policies in relation to special educational needs, race equality, disability and sex.

The Governors act as a corporate body, so that although everyone has an equal voice, once a decision has been made it is the duty of all governors to uphold this.

Business and Other Interests

It is important that governors not only act impartially, but are also seen to act impartially. The governing body have a
responsibility to avoid any conflict between their business and personal interests and affairs and those of the school. There is a legal duty on all
governors to declare an interest likely to lead to questions of bias when considering any item of business at a meeting and for the governor
concerned to withdraw, if necessary, whilst the matter is considered. A register of interests can be found at the bottom of this page.

Membership of the Governing Body as of September 2023:


 Mr Mark Robinson


 Mrs Sue Metcalfe




Term of Office Start and End Date

Appointing Body

Foundation Governor

Rev Capt Malcolm

Jackson   7 January 2018 – date

Ex Officio

Foundation Governor

Mrs Wendy


1 February 2024 – 31st January 2028

York Diocesan Board of Education

Co-opted Governor

 Mrs Josie Owen 8 October 2020 – 7 October 2024.

Governing Body

Co-opted Governor


Co-opted Governor

 Mrs Sheila

 Sloane 12 July 2021 – 11 July 2025

Governing Body

Parent Governor

Mrs Sarah Prudom 9 June 2023 – 8 June 2027 Parents via Parent Governor elections

Parent Governor

Mr Mark

Robinson 14 June 2021 – 13 June 2025

Parents via Parent Governor elections

Co-opted Governor

Mrs Katherine


13 December 2021 – 12 December 2025  Governing body

Staff (Headteacher)

Mrs Lisa


1 November 2015 – date

Ex Officio

Staff Governor (Maternity Cover)

Miss Dani


19 September 2023 – 31 August 2024

Staff via Staff Governor elections

Local Authority Governor

Mrs Sue


27 September 2021 – 26 September 2025

Local Authority

SEND Link Governor

Mrs Sue Metcalfe


Safeguarding Link Governor

 Mrs Josie Owen

H&S Link Governor        

 Rev Malcolm Jackson
Register of business and other interests
Name Business Interests, Directorships, Trusteeships etc.

Personal Interests eg relationships with staff, pupils or governors / close family members with connections

Links to other educational establishments
Mark Robinson None Children in school None
Sue Metcalfe None Relatives in school None
Lisa Armstrong None None Shared headship of Goathland Primary School
Wendy Norman None None None
Malcolm Jackson None None None
Kath Cornforth None None Staff member Danby School
Sheila Sloan None Relatives in school None
Sarah Prudom None Children in school None
Dani Calvert None None None
Josie Owen None None None